JCIDS Process

JCIDS Process Overview

The Joint Capabilities Integration and Development System (JCIDS) process is one of three (3) processes (Acquisition, Requirements, and Funding) that support the Defense Acquisition System.  It was created to support the statutory responsibility of the Joint Requirements Oversight Council (JROC) to validate joint warfighting requirements. It plays a key role in identifying the capabilities required by the warfighters to support the National Defense Strategy (NDS), the National Military Strategy (NMS), and the National Strategy for Homeland Defense. [1]

The primary objective of the JCIDS process is to ensure the capabilities required by the joint warfighter are identified, along with their associated operational performance criteria (requirements), in order to successfully execute the missions assigned. This is done through an open process that provides the JROC the information needed and supports the Defense Acquisition Process and Planning, Programming, Budget, and Execution (PPBE) Process</span?. The process consists of four (4) main steps.

Flow Chart: JCIDS Process Flow Chart (Outdated)

The JCIDS process supports the Acquisition Process by identifying and assessing capability needs and their associated performance criteria.  A depiction of the relationship between the JCIDS process and key acquisition process decision points (Milestones and Phases) are shown in the figure below. [1]

Figure: JCIDS and Defense Acquisition System Interaction [1]

Step 1: Capabilities Base Assessment (CBA)
The objective of the Capabilities Base Assessment (CBA) is to validate capability gap(s) by providing: [1]

  • Identification of the mission;
  • The capabilities required and their associated operational characteristics and attributes;
  • Capability gaps and associated operational risks;
  • Assessment of the viability of a non-material solution;
  • Potential recommendation on a type of solution to be pursued.

– If a materiel solution is proposed, an Initial Capabilities Document (ICD) is developed.
– If a non-material solution is proposed, a (DOTMLPF) Change Recommendation (DCR) is produced.

Step 2: Approval of the Initial Capabilities Document (ICD) and Courses of Action
When the JROC approves an ICD, it validates the capabilities required to perform the mission as defined; the gap in capabilities along with their priorities and operational risks; and the need to address the capability gaps. The JROC may direct three (3) courses of action to address capability gaps: [1]

  1. Accept operational risk and take no further action;
  2. Seek a non-material approach (changes to doctrine, organization, etc.) to address the capability gap as an alternative or adjunct to a new material solution;
  3. Recommend a material solution.

Step 3: Approval of the Capability Development Document (CDD)
In approving the CDD, the JROC: validates the Key Performance Parameters (KPP) and their associated threshold and objective values; assesses the risks in meeting those KPPs in terms of cost, schedule, and technological maturity; and assesses the affordability of the system as compared to the operational capability being delivered. The JROC may consider alternatives to any acquisition program by evaluating the cost, schedule, and performance criteria of the program and identified alternatives. [1]

Main JCIDS Instruction: The new Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Instruction (CJCSI) 5123.01H “Charter Joint Requirements Oversight Council (JROC) and Implementation of the Joint Capabilities Integration and Development System (JCIDS) replaces the CJCSI 31070.01.





AcqLinks and Resources:

Updated: 2/12/2020

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top