Back to Top

Educating the Aerospace Industry

Adaptive Acquisition Framework

The Adaptive Acquisition Framework (AAF) supports the Defense Acquisition System with the objective of delivering effective, suitable, survivable, sustainable, and affordable solutions to the end-user in a timely manner. To achieve those objectives, Milestone Decision Authorities (MDAs), other Decision Authorities (DAs), and Program Managers (PMs) have broad authority to plan and manage their programs consistent with sound business practice. The AAF acquisition pathways provide opportunities for MDAs/DAs and PMs to develop acquisition strategies and employ acquisition processes that match the characteristics of the capability being acquired. The framework has six (6) distinct acquisition pathways.

  1. Urgent Capability Acquisition
  2. Middle Tier of Acquisition
  3. Major Capability Acquisition
  4. Software Acquisition
  5. Defense Business System
  6. Acquisition of Services

DoD Instruction: 5000.85 “Major Capability Acquisition” – 6 Aug 2020

DAU Website: Adaptive Acquisition Framework 

Adaptive Acquisition Framework Methods

Figure: DoD Instruction 5000.85 Major Capability Acquisition 

Prototyping & Experiments
Contract Methods

Below is a list of contract methods that can be used to perform Rapid Acquisitions:

Method Acquisition Authority Decision Authority
Procure Defense Services DODI 5000.74 SAE or Designee
Weapons System Procurement DODI 5000.02 MDA
Section 803 MDA equivalent to ACAT Level
Section 805 MDA equivalent to ACAT Level
Rapid Middle Tier Prototyping Section 804 – Rapid Prototyping MDA equivalent to ACAT Level
Section 804 – Rapid Fielding MDA equivalent to ACAT Level
Section 806 – Weapon Component Prototyping or Technology Selected by SAE after oversight Board Reviews
Early Prototyping DODI 3201.01
Rapid Experiments 10 USC 2373
MDA: Milestone Decision Authority; ACAT: Acquisition Category; SAE: Service Acquisition Executive


Rapid Organizations

AcqLinks and References:

Updated: 9/18/2020