Production, Quality & Manufacturing

ISO 9000 Quality Management Series

ISO 9000 is a series of International Organization for Standards (ISO) that are being used by companies and organizations around the world to provide a basis for a quality system.  It assures customers that processes and procedures have been implemented that will help to guarantee the quality levels of products and services rendered. ISO 9000 was first published in 1987 but the majority of organizations now use ISO 9001. In 2000, ISO 9001:2000 (and now 2008) combined the three (3) standards; ISO 9001, ISO 9002, and ISO 9003.

Numbering Explained Example:

ISO 9000:2000

9000 = series of family (Quality)

2000 = Year of Update

The ISO 9000 series is made up of the following standards:

  • ISO 9000:2005 Quality management systems – Fundamentals and vocabulary
  • ISO 9001:2008 Quality management systems – Requirements
  • ISO 9004:2009 Quality Management System – Managing for the sustained success of an organization
  • ISO 19011: Audit standards for environmental and quality systems

Implementing an ISO 9000 Quality Management System starts with the establishment of quality objectives, and communicating those objectives to all levels of responsibility within an organization. Once quality goals are set, the organization must evaluate the quality policies and determine whether they contribute toward higher efficiency.

All requirements of an ISO are generic and are intended to be applicable to all organizations, regardless of type, size and product provided.

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) and American Society of Quality (ASQ) developed the ANSI/ISO/ASQ Q9000 series of standards based on the ISO 9000 standards. The ANSI/ISO/ASQ Q9000 series is a set of three individual, but related standards on quality management and quality assurance that commonly serve as a guide in the DoD to evaluate systems. Each item in the ANSI/ISO/ASQ series is as follows:

  • ANSI/ISO/ASQ Q9000 Quality management systems – Fundamentals and vocabulary
  • ANSI/ISO/ASQ Q9001 Quality management systems – Requirements
  • ANSI/ISO/ASQ Q9004 Quality management systems – Guidelines for performance improvements

AcqLinks and References:

Updated: 7/21/2017

Leave a Reply