PPBE Process

Defense Acquisition Workforce


The Defense Acquisition Workforce (10 USC Chapter 87 – Defense Acquisition Workforce) is responsible for the development of Department of Defense (DoD) systems. These individuals consist of military and civilian Program Managers (PM), Systems Engineers, Logisticians, Cost Estimators, Contract Officers, Finance and many more.

The management of the workforce falls under 10 USC Chapter 87 and (5) five Subchapters.

Defense Acquisition Workforce Improvement Act (DAWIA)
DAWIA was signed into law in November 1990. It requires the Department of Defense to establish education and training standards, requirements, and courses for the civilian and military workforce. The DAWIA has been subsequently modified including amendments in 2003, 2004, and 2006. DAWIA certification is managed by the Defense Acquisition University (DAU). DAU offers training courses for all Defense Acquisition Workforce members in 14 career fields and at three certification levels.

Various Reports on the Defense Acquisition Workforce

AcqLinks and References:

Updated: 5/30/2018